MockingjayTitle : Mockingjay

Author : Suzanne Collins

ISBN-10: 0545663261

ISBN-13 : 978-0545663267

Paperback : 400 pages

The Plot :

The third and final book in The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins is called ‘Mockingjay’. It starts off immediately where the previous book left off. The book is divided into three parts as follows:

Part 1: The Ashes

Katniss has been rescued from the area of the 75th Hunger Games. She was picked up in a hovercraft right from the arena. When she gains consciousness and realizes what has happened, she understands how she was rescued from the arena with a couple of other tributes but Peeta is not one of them. She comes to terms with the fact that her district has been completely burnt to the ground and nothing but ashes are left.

Her family and Gale however, have been brought to safety to district 13. This district, which was assumed to be totally annihilated many years ago by the Capitol, has in fact managed to survive underground for all these years. It is now the centre of the rebellion against the Capitol. Katniss is still haunted by President Snow. All the rebel forces look to Katniss to be the face of the rebellion, but she is still reeling from the fact that Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. After much angst, she decides to be the face, the Mockingjay, for the rebellion. In return, she gets immunity for her friends and permission to kill President Snow when captured.

Katniss has to star in commercials for the rebel side, called propos. For one propo, she and a team that includes Gale are sent into another district, where they see a hospital get destroyed. This inspires Katniss to call for justice. As the rebels are gaining in strength, and because Peeta has sent out a coded message to the rebels warning them of an attack, the Capitol releases footage of Peeta being tortured.

Part 2: The Assault

Katniss is horrified by the way Peeta is being treated. The Capitol bombs District 13, just as Peeta warned it would. Citizens of District 13 retreat even further underground for several days. When it is all clear, Katniss makes another propo, while rebel teams go to rescue Peeta.

The rebels get Peeta and some other folks out of the Capitol, but Peeta has been badly damaged. He’s been brainwashed by the capitol using the venom of tracker-jackers and now thinks of Katniss as the enemy. As soon as he sees her, he tries to kill her. Once she recovers from Peeta’s attack, Katniss needs to be part of the action. She, Gale, and Finnick are assigned to a special unit that will be filmed during combat and turned into more propos. Right before they go out into the field, Peeta’s assigned to their unit too.

Part 3: The Assassin

Katniss is afraid for her life, not just from the Capitol but also from Peeta who gets flashes where he still wants to kill Katniss. Slowly with her team Katniss manages to travel underground, along the sewer pipes to penetrate the capitol. One by one, their team members are sacrificed as they make their way to the heart of the Capitol. Only few of them, including Katniss, Gale, and Peeta, are left by the time they reach it. Then starts the battle against the forces of the Capitol. This is not much different from being in the arena, where there can be only one victor. In this case it will be either President Snow or Katniss.

The book is such an amazing read. It makes for the most satisfying end to the entire series. The best part I liked about this book, apart from the gripping story line and beautiful writing is that every character is accounted for and the story ties up very well in the end. The writhing and characters are as rich as the previous books in the series. The story takes so many twists and turns that it keeps the reader at the edge of their seat, trying to guess what will happen next. It makes for a compelling read and I highly recommend it!!


Buy the Book From :

Find Out More About the Author :

Find Out More About the Movie :  Part 1 –

Part 2 –